EdgeEX — Updating course options at the district or school level

 Permission

You must have the following permission to complete the steps on this page: EdgeEX Edit Course Information and Options for All Courses and Sections.

To check your permissions, reference Checking your educator permissions.

Use this article to update the course options of a course at the district or school level.

 Note

Modifications to any course option made at a higher level are applied to all lower levels unless it would override a change that was made to that specific course option already made at the enrollment level.

For example, imagine a scenario where an enrollment has the Free Movement option turned on for a course. If an educator turns Free Movement off for the course at the school level, the option will still be on for that student at the enrollment level.

If an enrollment already has the Free Movement option turned on and an educator modifies the course at the school level to allow students to increase video playback speed but not to have Free Movement, the student who has Free Movement turned on at the enrollment level will have both options turned on.

Updating course options

  1. Access the Course Hub of the desired course.
  2. On the left navigation, click Options.
    CourseHub-options.png
  3. The course options display. Use the list to jump to a specific section or scroll down the page to view all options.
    CourseOptions-display.png
  4. Next to the name of the option you want to edit, click the pencil icon. 
    PencilIcon.png

     Note

    Clicking the pencil icon next to one option unlocks editing for all the options.

  5. Make the applicable change to the course options. Review a list of all the options here.
  6. On the confirmation window that displays, click Apply Changes.
    ConfirmationApplyChanges.png
  7. A confirmation window displays. Review the updates made and click Next.
    CourseOptionsApplyChangesWindow.png
  8. On the confirmation window that displays, select the applicable option.
    NewSectionsConfirmation.png
  9. Click Save.
    SaveButton.png
  10. A confirmation window displays. Click Close.
    Success-Close.png