Use this article to archive a course in the District Catalog. You can archive a course when you no longer want it to be available for creating new sections. Archiving the course will have no impact on active sections or their enrollments.
Archiving is a district-level lifecycle action. When a course is archived:
- It is archived from the District Catalog.
- It is automatically archived from School Catalogs in the district where that course was present.
- Existing sections remain active. Archiving does not change student work, section content/options, or student placement.
- Existing enrollments remain active. Archiving does not change student work, enrollment content/options, or student placement.
- The course cannot be used to create new sections while archived. A course must be active in the District Catalog before it can be used for new section creation.
Frequently asked questions
An archived Imagine Edgenuity-published base version, such as an IC, CR, or HON version, can still trigger the New Edition alert. You may therefore see an alert for a version you previously archived.
While you can add the "new edition" back to your District Catalog using the blue banner, it only restores the course you previously archived, including any previously made customizations or changes to course options. It does not come into the District Catalog directly from the Imagine Edgenuity catalog without any customizations.
Archiving a course
- Locate the course you want to archive in the District Catalog.
- At the top-right of the course card, click Version Options, then click Archive Versions.
- On the Archive Versions window, select the versions you want to archive, then click Next.
- Review your selections, then click Archive.
- On the success message that displays, click Done.
- If you archived the course in error, you can unarchive it using the steps in EdgeEX — Unarchiving a course in the District Catalog.