Lexile® Ranges for Edgenuity Courses

Frequently Asked Questions
What are the Lexile® levels of the CLN (Classic Novels) books?
  • The Red Badge of Courage: 900L
  • Call of the Wild: 1120L
  • 1984: 1090L
  • Gulliver’s Travels: 1330L
  • Jane Eyre: 890L
  • Robinson Crusoe: 1320L
  • The House of Seven Gables: 1320L
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream: 1080L
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde: 910L
  • Mrs. Dalloway: 950L
  • The Three Musketeers: 960L
  • Macbeth: 1350L
  • Author Studies: HS, various

Realizing the varied reading abilities of the nation’s students, especially within a single classroom, Edgenuity’s courses include texts and readings that accommodate a range of reading abilities while remaining an academically challenging curriculum. The following chart shows the Lexile range for each grade-level course.

Grade Lowest Level (25th percentile) Highest Level (75th percentile)
6 665L 1050L
7 735L 1075L
8 805L 1100L
9 855L 1150L
10 905L 1200L
11 & 12 940L 1300L

Edgenuity also follows guidelines for text complexity as outlined by the Common Core. A given text may fall outside the general Lexile range but be of an appropriate complexity for other reasons. For example, a text may be at a low Lexile level but be complex because of a high degree of symbolism or figurative language. Alternatively, a text may be at a high Lexile but be made less complex by appropriate scaffolding. Because of this, selected texts sometimes fall outside the range for a given grade.

Edgenuity does not publish the Lexile levels of individual readings selections within each course. However, the levels are available from the original publishers and can generally be found online.